Pierre Jalbert

Professor of Composition and Theory 
B.M. (1989) Oberlin College
Ph.D. (1993) University of Pennsylvania

1603 Alice Pratt Brown Hall 

Pierre Jalbert (b. 1967) served as Composer-in-Residence with the Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra from 2002 - 2005 and is currently Professor of Composition and Theory at Rice University's Shepherd School of Music in Houston. Earning widespread notice for his richly colored and superbly crafted scores, Jalbert has developed a musical language that is engaging, expressive, and deeply personal. Among his many honors are the Rome Prize, the BBC Masterprize, and most recently, the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center's 2007 Stoeger Award, given biennially "in recognition of significant contributions to the chamber music repertory."

His music has been performed throughout the United States and abroad, including four Carnegie Hall performances of his orchestral music, one of the more recent being the Houston Symphony's premiere of his orchestral work, big sky, in 2006. Other major works for orchestra include In Aeternam (2000), performed by the London Symphony Orchestra, Symphonia Sacra (2001), written for the California Symphony; Chamber Symphony (2004), commissioned by the Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra, and Fire and Ice (2007), commissioned for the Oakland East Bay, Marin, and Santa Rosa Symphonies through Meet the Composer Foundation's MAGNUM OPUS Project. He has also served as Composer-in-Residence with the California Symphony (1999-2002), and Music in the Loft in Chicago (2003). Select commissions and performances include those of the Ying, Borromeo, Maia, Enso, Chiara, and Escher String Quartets; violinist Midori; and the symphony orchestras of London, Budapest, Seattle, Houston, Fort Worth, Colorado, and Albany among others.

Jalbert serves as one of the artistic directors of Musiqa, a Houston-based contemporary chamber ensemble, and his teaching specialties include Composition, Orchestration, Score Reading, and Aural Skills. Current projects include works for the Vermont Symphony, the Pittsburgh New Music Ensemble, and the Emerson String Quartet.