Kurt Stallmann

Associate Professor of Composition and Theory
Director of the Rice Electroacoustic Music Labs (REMLABS)
A.M. (1997) Harvard University
Ph.D.(1999) Harvard University

2811 Alice Pratt Brown Hall

Kurt Stallmann

Kurt Stallmann devotes his energy towards synthesizing many of the mediums available to composers today. His compositions are written for acoustic instruments, electroacoustic combinations with interactive elements, environmental sounds, and purely synthetic sounds. He also enjoys improvising with musicians and frequently collaborates with artists from other disciplines. Scholarly interests include a series of psychological studies on how musical sequences can affect time estimation. At the 2008 International Conference on Auditory Displays at IRCAM in Paris, Stallmann gave a paper titled Auditory Stimulus Design: Musically Informed.

In 2012, Stallmann received a Fulbright Scholar Grant to visit Taipei, Taiwan to collaborate with Taipei National University of the Arts on a new work based on the soundscape of Taipei. In 2009, his work was recognized by the American Academy of Arts and Letters with a Goddard Lieberson Fellowship and in 2008, he received a Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellowship. From 2008-2009, Stallmann was Composer-In-Residence at Sharpstown High School for the Houston Symphony Education and Outreach Program sponsored by the Fidelity FutureStage program and from 2005-2008 he was on the SEAMUS Board of Directors (Society for Electro Acoustic Music in the United States) while he served as editor of the SEAMUS Newsletter. He has also been an active member of two composer’s collectives, Musiqa in Houston (2002-2004), and Composers in Red Sneakers in Boston (2001-2003).

Recent commissions include Ten Directions (2012, Rice University), an electroacoustic work created for the dedication ceremony of the James Turrell Skyspace with integrated sound system at Rice University; Change Course (2012), a computer interactive work for saxophonist Steve Duke; Moon Crossings (2011, Fromm Music Foundation), a 17 minute work for 15 performers, video, and surround sound system; Following Franz, Now (2011, Chamber Music America) a string quartet with optional electronics for the Grammy nominated Enso String Quartet; Breaking Earth (2008, Meet The Composer Commissioning Music/USA Program and DiverseWorks ArtSpace), a twenty-two minute multimedia art installation with filmmaker Alfred Guzzetti for five independent streams of high-definition video with eleven channels of audio; and SONA: Wind, Rain, and Trains (2006, Cultural Arts Council of Houston and Harris County), a multimedia work inspired by the soundscape of Houston for string quartet with real-time digital processing, videos, found sounds, and synthesized sounds.

Stallmann currently serves as Associate Professor of music composition at Rice University's Shepherd School of Music and as Director of the Rice Electroacoustic Music Labs (REMLABS).