Master of Music in Clarinet Performance

Richie Hawley, faculty

Online Preliminary Submission by December 1, 2017

The green icon labeled "Preliminary Dropbox" at the bottom of this page will lead you to the Rice University portal for Acceptd, an online repository for preliminary audition materials. There is a $24 fee to use this service.

Required preliminary repertoire is by video submission

  • Mozart Clarinet Concerto, 1st movement, Exposition only (beginning of Solo until bar 133)
  • Copland Concerto, from the beginning to end of the cadenza
  • Mendelssohn Scherzo from A Midsummer Night’s Dream, measures 1 – 48
  • Brahms Symphony No. 3. Movement 2, Andante, bars 1- 23

The submission must be played in a continuous unedited segment; any indication that there has been editing or that recording equipment was paused/stopped between selections will result in the disqualification of the application. All pieces should be played unaccompanied.

If you have not heard from us by January 5, 2018, please email us.

Required graduate live audition repertoire

  • The entire Mozart Clarinet Concerto, K. 622
  • Choose and prepare one of the following concertos in its entirety: Debussy, Premiere Rhapsodie; Nielsen, Concerto; Weber, Concerto No 2 in Eb; or Copland, Concerto.
  • Orchestral excerpts (do not use excerpt books for these passages) Mendelssohn Scherzo from A Midsummer Night's Dream, measures 1-48; Beethoven Symphony 6, 1st movement measures 476-492 & 2nd movement measures 69-77 Beethoven Symphony 8, movement 3 Menuetto (Trio); Brahms Symphony 3, movements 1 and 2 (please prepare solos and tutti passages)

Applicants will also be expected to demonstrate sight-reading ability with material chosen by the instructor.

Live auditions will be held on January 27 and 28, 2018

Any questions regarding your application can be directed to Geoffrey Scott.

Submit your digital application